Wednesday, April 24, 2024
HomeNew VCs for six Universities

New VCs for six Universities

Governor and Chancellor of Universities, Odisha Professor Ganeshi Lal appointed Prof. Aparajita Chowdhury, Prof. Sabita Acharya, Prof. Dinabandhu Sahoo, Prof. N.Nagaraju, Prof. Kishore Kumar Basa and Prof. Prafulla Kumar Mohanty as Vice-Chancellor of Rama Devi Women’s University, Utkal University, Fakir Mohan University, Gangadhar Meher University, North Odisha University and Khallikote University respectively today.  In exercise of the powers conferred by Sub Section (1) read with Sub-Section (7) of Section 6 of Odisha Universities (Amendment) Act, 2020, Chancellor Prof. Lal appointed Vice Chancellors for a period of four years with effect from the date they assume office as such or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Prof. Aparajita Chowdhury was former Director, College of Development Council and Professor of Home Science, Berhampur University having more than 37 years of teaching experience. Prof. Sabita Acharya, formerly Chairman, Post Graduate Council and Professor of Anthropology, Utkal University is having more than 31 years of teaching experience. With more than 26 years of teaching experience Prof. Dinabandhu Sahoo is presently serving as Professor, University of Delhi. Prof. N. Nagaraju is presently working as Professor in English, Central University of Karnataka with 34 years of teaching experience. Prof. Kishore Kumar Basa is having 38 years of teaching experience and he was Professor (Retd.) Tagore National Fellow, University of Culture, Government of India. Prof. Prafulla Kumar Mohanty, former Professor of Zoology, Utkal University is having 35 years teaching experience.

Even amidst an irreparable loss of the First Lady, the Hon’ble Governor ensured that the new Vice-Chancellors of 6 Universities are appointed today so that they get at least 7 days to join their new assignment as the tenure of the present Vice-Chancellors comes to an end this month. 

- Advertisment -

Most Popular